Blog Writing Heuristic

This is stolen entirely from Philip Guo, an Assistant Professor of Cognitive Science at UC San Diego. It is so good it is worth sharing without comment:

One heuristic I use when deciding what to write is to ask myself:

Will at least 100 people care about this topic three years from now?

The following don’t qualify, so I rarely write about them:

  • commentary on news events or fads
  • reactions to someone else’s article
  • personal notes that only my friends would care about

Also, if I see many people writing about a topic, then I avoid it unless I have a drastically different perspective.

 

~ by severalfourmany on October 14, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
