Day 7: Talk about your blogging quirks

I am much better at outlining a blog post than writing and posting it.

I seem to average at least one outline per day and have done many as half a dozen outlines in a single day.

Unfortunately I only post about once a week.

Even more unfortunately, the ones I like the best rarely get finished and posted.

Most posts are excerpts from conversations—in person, online or with myself. The online ones have the best chance of getting posted as they are already in written text.

Blogging comes in phases. A good month will have more than 20 posts but there are also times I have gone months without a post.

I try to avoid platitudes, superlatives, and plot summaries.

I prefer each post to have an idea. Preferable an idea of my own, not one I have borrowed or stolen from someone else. It doesn’t have to be a good idea and I often change my mind.

I cannot focus on one thing. My interests are promiscuous. As a result, my blog will always lack focus.

~ by severalfourmany on September 15, 2013.

2 Responses to “Day 7: Talk about your blogging quirks”

  1. I’m in the middle putting a post together that seemed great in the outline but is now falling flat. I don’t know if overall I’ve really found my flow in the blog.

  2. I like conversation so much more than writing. When presenting a paper I would prefer to speak from an outline rather than read the paper. I tend to do the same thing with presentations. I have a deck of pictures, charts or data and then I talk about them. People ask me to send them my presentation but then find it doesn’t have any descriptions or commentary. I have the same trouble with the blog. I like the ideas but hate transcribing them into full written sentences and paragraphs.

Leave a Reply

 
