What’s the problem with taxes?


From hearing the candidates (and in Virginia I get to hear the candidates a lot) you would think that taxes are the major issue of this election.  Nobody wants to be on the hook for raising taxes–or not lowering taxes. If you listen to their arguments you would guess that there is no greater evil in our nation or bigger problem to solve. It doesn’t seem to matter which side of the aisle  you’re on, taxes are bad.

But I like taxes. When they are properly deducted from my paycheck and there are no surprises at the end of the year I don’t really notice and adjust my expectations accordingly. What I have noticed, however, is how much different and better my life is when I live in a place (and time) where the taxes are sufficient and well spent.

I live better and spend less when I pay more taxes. The money I spend on taxes goes farther than the money I spend. I get more. And I actually like the things my taxes buy. I like well repaired roads–I have a shorter commute time and spend less on gas and car repairs; better yet I love a good mass transit system I save money on gas, insurance, car repairs, parking and the time that would have been spent sitting bored and frustrated watching someone’s bumper I can be engrossed in a good book. With taxes you can get  books from the public library which saves a fortune at Amazon and USPS shipping, not to mention takes up less shelf space at home. The list goes on and on depending on where you live and how your taxes are spent. But generally taxes tend to provide better education at all levels, better health and medical services, parks and recreation, music, art, museums and all manner of cultural activities. Not to mention that it attracts people who like education, culture, health, etc. In general all the things that make for an interesting and enjoyable life.

What about jobs and growth? Taxes provide the basic infrastructure of transportation, utilities,  public safety and an educated workforce so that companies can focus on their main business. We all win.

~ by severalfourmany on October 31, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
