I love my job

I love my job. Every day I meet and work with smart, talented, creative, congenial people. But this is really amazing. Yesterday, while interviewing someone to work with me, I asked the following question:

“In The Practice of Everyday Life, Michel de Certeau introduces the idea of tactics as the way isolated individuals take advantage of gaps or fissures in formal hegemonic structures to create pockets of freedom, creativity and uniqueness within a larger institutional culture. How might an information architect utilize de Certeau’s notion of tactics to create a better user experience within the context of an ostensibly strategic project like designing large corporate web sites and digital applications for major consumer brands?”

What was even more amazing than asking such a question in an interview, was that the candidate was able to provide an intelligent and thoughtful answer to it.

~ by severalfourmany on January 21, 2011.

2 Responses to “I love my job”

  1. Even more fun, when we flew him into town for the full interview he had thought about he question more and provided a revised and more elaborate follow up. It proved to be a great discussion started.

Leave a Reply

 
