Post Colonial Colonization

Sat Jun 7 11:45:17 2008
The U.S. has generally preferred to outright annex rather than colonize most acquired territories (e.g., Republic of Texas, Republic of Hawaii, Louisiana, Oregon, Alaska and the Mexican Cession). Yet over the years the U.S. has also held a wide variety of colonial possessions including: Cuba (1899-1902, 1906-1909), Guantanamo Bay (1899-present), Republic of the Philippines (1898-1946), Puerto Rico (1898-present), Guam (1898-present), American Samoa (1899-present), Haiti (1915-34), Dominican Republic (1916-22), U.S. Virgin Islands (1917-present) , Panama Canal Zone (1903-1979) , Trust Territories of the Pacific Islands including the Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Mariana Islands and Palau (1947-present) as well as the nine Outlying Islands acquired between1856 and 1912. The historical record does not support the media’s view of the U.S. as a benign “post-colonial” power.


~ by severalfourmany on June 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: