First Opera Experience

Nov 27, 2006 11:42 pm
I loved hearing the “Ride of the Walkyries” performed in concert when I was about 8 or 9, but it really started a few years later when Time-Life sent out an 8″ paper-thin vinyl recording to promote their complete Ring recording. I read the promotional materials, including a complete synopsis, while I listened to the excerpts on the disc over and over. I was completely fascinated. My parents wouldn’t dream of buying something so frivolous and expensive so I had to wait until I was old enough to get a job at the local pizza joint before I could hear the whole thing.

Meanwhile I would listen to the Met broadcasts every weekend, often taping them on a small portable cassette player. Later, when the Met did a TV commercial with a rancher and his cattle singing along to Pagliacci it reminded me of those years growing up in Nebraska.

~ by severalfourmany on November 27, 2006.

2 Responses to “First Opera Experience”

  1. My father began to bring me along to the Met traveling productions when they came to the Twin Cities and I got hooked.

  2. I saw those too. But that was years later. I don’t remember the traveling productions ever coming to Nebraska, so I had to wait until I too lived in the Twin Cities. I think I may have seen one the last of the traveling productions just before they stopped. I actually met someone at that performance of Die Walküre. We dated for a year or so. We are still in touch and see each other once in a while. She leads an excellent Early Music group here in Boston.

Leave a Reply

 
