Strauss operas

Apr 23, 2006 8:54 pm
I have twice tried to systematically work my way through Richard Strauss’ operas in chronological order. Both times I only got as far as Frau ohne Schatten and lost interest. Contrary to Osbourne and Strauss I don’t think it is his best opera, probably not even in his top five. I don’t mind Strauss’ music but after consecutively watching Rosenkavalier, Ariadne auf Naxos and Frau ohne Schatten I have had about all I can stand of Hofmannsthal’s pretentious silliness and needed something with a very different approach to constructing a libretto.

~ by severalfourmany on April 23, 2006.

2 Responses to “Strauss operas”

  1. Well, it isn’t quite as ambitious as taking on all 70 of Donizetti’s operas!

  2. I suspect I will get much further with Donizetti. I was just listening to La Zingara. Each character seems to have their own subplot and the only common thread is that they are all being manipulated in some clever way by the Gypsy. The story is about as convoluted and absurd as opera plots get, but Donizetti’s seems to take advantage of this to create a really funny opera buffa.

Leave a Reply

 
