Parsifal

Oct 22, 2005 11:33 am
I always think of Parsifal as a springtime ritual and almost always listen to it on Easter (for most of day, as it is so long). It has always been a favorite of mine and I think that is Wagner’s greatest single opera. And Kundry is the most fascinating part. How her character is portrayed often sets the tone for the whole performance. Waltraud Meier still stands as my favorite but I am always on the look out for alternatives. I recently heard a recording of Maria Callas singing the part of Kundry in Italian. I must admit it suited her voice much better than some of the bel canto roles she attempted. But somehow it was not the same in Italian.

~ by severalfourmany on October 22, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
